Attorney General O’Connor Announces Safe Oklahoma Grant Recipients

September 22, 2022

Press Release

Attorney General John O’Connor today announced the recipients of the 2023 Safe Oklahoma Grant, which distributed $2 million among 58 statewide law enforcement agencies.

General O’Connor was joined by Oklahoma City Police Chief Wade Gourley, Tulsa Police Chief Wendell Franklin, Norman Police Chief Kevin Foster, and Pauls Valley Police Chief Mitch McGill. The four agencies combined received $871,601.00 through the 2023 grant and spoke about how their agencies would use the money.

We are truly appreciative and honored to be selected as a recipient of the Safe Oklahoma Grant,” said Oklahoma City Police Chief Wade Gourley. “Partnering with the citizens of our community is among the most effective ways to fight crime. The Safe Oklahoma Grant allows us to do exactly that.”

Attorney General O’Connor said money from the grant will help the agencies directly target crime in their communities, pay overtime costs for officers, upgrade antiquated technology, enhance analytical capabilities, and purchase new resources.

I am happy to announce that my office received a record number of applications this year and was able to allocate to more agencies than ever before,” said Attorney General O’Connor. “This program has proven to help our law enforcement partners do their job better and reduce crime across the state. My office is honored to play a role in making communities safer by distributing these funds.”

The grant allows law enforcement agencies to submit proposals to the attorney general’s office stating how the funds will be used to reduce crime.

Attorney General O’Connor said the grant continues to help both rural and metro-area agencies with basic policing necessities as well as advanced technology.

Each department need is different, but they are all necessary to fight crime and keep our communities safe,” Attorney General O’Connor said. “For example, the Pauls Valley Police Department is using the grant funds to upgrade its antiquated ink fingerprint system to a live scan fingerprint system, a tool that is used by most local agencies and has been around for 25 years.”

About the Safe Oklahoma Grant Program

Established in 2012, the Attorney General’s Safe Oklahoma Grant Program is funded by an annual appropriation from the state legislature. All sheriff’s and other local law enforcement agencies, including campus police, are eligible for the grant.

After the applications are reviewed, the grants are made on a one-year period and continued funding is not guaranteed. Applicants must include the city’s violent crime rate for the previous five years.  

2023 Grant Recipients and Amount Received:

    • Altus Police Department – $50,000
    • Anadarko Police Department – $13,279
    • Bixby Police Department – $15,000
    • Broken Arrow Police Department – $30,000
    • Cache Police Department -$15,000
    • Calera Police Department – $15,000
    • Canadian County Sheriff’s Office – $62,355
    • Chickasha Police Department – $42,000
    • Cleveland Police Department – $10,029.87
    • Davenport Police Department – $5,000
    • District 1 DA/ Narcotics TF (Guymon) – $40,000
    • District 14 DA/ Investigative Division (Tulsa County) – $24,805
    • District 19 DA/ Investigations (Durant) – $14,735.78
    • District 22 DA/ Drug & Violent Crime TF (Ada) – $8,904.85
    • District 6 DA/ Drug & Violent Crimes TF (Duncan) – $25,000
    • District 8 DA/ Drug TF & Major Crime Unit (Newkirk) – $10,388
    • Drumright Police Department – $15,000
    • Durant Police Department – $25,000
    • Elk City Police Department – $15,200
    • Fairland Police Department – $10,000
    • Foyil Police Department – $10,000
    • Garfield County Sheriff’s Office – $30,000
    • Garvin County Sheriff’s Office – $33,667.90
    • Hominy Police Department – $10,000
    • Idabel Police Department – $22,062.54
    • Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office – $10,000
    • Lone Grove Police Department – $10,000
    • Major County Sheriff’s Office – $15,000
    • Mannford Police Department – $20,000
    • McClain County Sheriff’s Office – $35,155.88
    • Midwest City Police Department – $50,000
    • Minco Police Department – $5,536
    • Moore Police Department – $50,000
    • Mounds Police Department – $9,000
    • Newkirk Police Department – $5,000
    • Norman Police Department – $59,464
    • Northeastern OK A&M College – $20,000
    • Oklahoma City Police Department – $400,000
    • Okmulgee Police Department – $15,000
    • Osage County Sheriff’s Office – $15,863
    • Owasso Police Department – $20,000
    • Pauls Valley Police Department – $12,137
    • Pittsburg County Sheriff’s Office – $17,000
    • Pottawatomi County Sheriff’s Office – $10,800
    • Pryor Police Department – $15,896.18
    • Rogers County Sheriff’s Office – $25,000
    • Sallisaw Police Department – $15,000
    • Sapulpa Police Department – $20,000
    • Sequoyah County Sheriff’s Office – $35,000
    • Shawnee Police Department – $40,000
    • Skiatook Police Department – $20,000
    • Sulphur Police Department – $15,000
    • Tulsa Police Department – $400,000
    • Tuttle Police Department – $6,720
    • Weatherford Police Department – $20,000
    • Webbers Falls Police Department – $10,000
    • Woods County Sheriff’s Office – $20,000
    • Woodward County Sheriff’s Office – $25,000

Got a news tip? Send it in: Email

Copyright 2022 Paragon Communications. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

SWOSU Plans “Oklahoma & The Cuban Missile Crisis” Event

September 30, 2022 SWOSU Press Release With the 60th anniversary of the Cuban Missile Crisis approaching, Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford will host a free “Oklahoma & The Cuban Missile Crisis” symposium on Thursday, October 27,

Two Carnegie Teens Die in Caddo Co. Wreck

September 29, 2022 By News Director Jared Atha Two Carnegie teens were killed in a crash Wednesday night in Caddo County, according to the Oklahoma Highway Patrol.

Local High Schools Recognized

September 28, 2022 By News Director Jared Atha Merritt High School, among others, has been recognized as an institution that excels at preparing students to enroll and succeed in college.

Western Oklahoma Drought Update

September 27, 2022 By News Director Jared Atha Despite recent rain showers and somewhat cooler temperatures, the drought that has plagued the region is still very active.

Arrowhead Activity Center Nearly Complete

September 23, 2022 By News Director Jared Atha Elk City Commissioners were provided an update on the nearly complete Arrowhead Activity Center that sits in Ackley Park West by City Manager Tom Ivester.

Elk City Sales Tax Up Again

September 21, 2021 By News Director Jared Atha During the latest Elk City Commissioner’s meeting Wednesday afternoon, the Commissioners received the latest sales, use, and cigarette tax report for the month of August.

Kiowa Co. Inmates Escape

September 21, 2021 Press Release On September 20, 2022, The Hobart Police Department was notified by the Kiowa County Sheriffs Office that 2 Kiowa County Inmates had escaped. It is believed that these inmates left the Kiowa

Elk City Man Charged With Animal Cruelty

September 20, 2022 By News Director Jared Atha An Elk City man is facing possible jail time after receiving two charges of animal cruelty after allegedly abandoning two dogs.