Roger Mills County Could See Storm Relief Funding From Feds

December 22, 2020

By News Director Jared Atha

President Donald Trump officially declared a federal disaster on Monday for 13 Oklahoma counties, including one in western Oklahoma, battered by the late October ice storm.

The declaration means federal funding will now be available to state, tribal and local governments and some private nonprofits for storm-related costs, the White House said in a press release.

One of the 13 counties approved for the possible funding includes Roger Mills.

The other 12 counties are Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Dewey, Grady, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Noble, Oklahoma, Payne, and Pottawatomie. Gov. Kevin Stitt said damage estimates for those 13 counties resulted in an estimated $27 million in debris removal and other costs.

Stitt says the state is also working to have an additional 16 counties added to the declaration. As many as 500,000 Oklahoma homes and businesses lost power when the storm iced over trees that crashed through power lines and blocked roadways.